Is journaling useful when you have 99 other things to do (part 2)?

I’m pretty sure I blogged on this topic earlier, but here I am again, busier than I have ever been in my life, with the possible exception of when I was writing my dissertation. As I start writing, the answer is “no,” but even as I am composing my oh so clever title, I am starting to relax and have fun. I think the answer is going to be yes.  I usually hate happy endings.

Relaxation and creativity are definitely reasons to write. Writing is good for our health. We’ve know that intuitively, as a release, as self-therapy, and some researches have found empirical evidence that it can even help with arthritis and asthma, I think. They don’t know why, but the results are  clear.

As for being useful in a utilitarian way, that’s less likely because I don’t have much time to think about the short video essay I would like to make.  I was back on the Digital Archive of Literacy Narratives as I prepped for class, and that got me excited about wanting to collect some stories from my Somali friends. I also found a few LNs written by students in a 400 level class at Ohio State University. I’d like to use some of them next year, as models, and as comparative texts.  I skimmed one about Magic the Gathering and one about Religion. Those two topics came up in our class, too.  That’s how the DALN could be a research site–what are the common elements among students in their 3rd or 4th (maybe 5th) year of college in the US right now?  Hmmm, that’s not such a useless reflection; good notes captured.

 

Leave a Reply

