First half harvest

As teacher of the course, my first half reflection might look different from my students’ reflection, because I need to think about what I will do differently and what I will keep the same next fall.

Last night, it occurred to me that I might want to try a more precise drafting scheme: 5 pages first draft, 10 pages second draft, 3rd draft can be more or less (cut back or elaborate). As a writing teacher, getting prescriptive with drafting is always a tough decision–do you coax text out of your students or do you let them find their way, naturally, through an assignment.

I’ve been wondering if I should put in two shorter personal essays: one about place, one a literacy narrative. Or maybe I should think about how to work in some variation, but not complete variation.  Start with literacy narrative, then do place, but do it as part of the Geoprofile work that Chris Lindgren is doing.  Network students’ writing in the second half, explore another site / prompt / chora for writing, and then use that as the bridge to the mystery assignment. Doing so might dislodge the audio essay, so I will have to see how that goes before I make a decision.

Writing on the bias: need to keep it, the third dimension, and its imagery alive, perhaps more prominent.

More later.

Leave a Reply

